Musical Sprouts students and teacher taste Ukrainian tea.

The Rick Cavender Band was just one of the eight acts that performed for the virtual gala supporting the Musical Sprouts educational program. They closed out the show with the well-known 1960s folk-rock song “Get Together”.

This year’s D’s on Keys was a resounding success, ensuring thousands of students will continue to have access to engaging learning experiences through global arts and cultures in the Musical Sprouts program.

Check out these highlights below from the online premiere as well as some featured brunch watch party pictures. If you missed the premiere, you can watch at or on YouTube now until midnight Sunday 12 June.

Hosts Norma and AviHosts Norma and Avi guide us through the show!

Francisco G. Cigarroa playing classical guitar
Dr. Francisco G. Cigarroa performed “Alegrias” by Sabicas

Kalaya Indian Performing Arts dancers strike a pose
Kalaya Indian Performing Arts brought a beautiful classical Indian dance!

Matthew Rose singing and playing the mandolin
Matthew Rose performed his original “February”.

Nichole Van de Putte sings in a microphone
Dr. Nichole Van De Putte sings “Ave Maria”.

Elena Portnaya plays piano
Elena Portnaya, DMA, accompanies Nichole Van De Putte.

Josefine Heim-Hall plays piano.
Dr. Josefine Heim-Hall serenaded audience with “Cordoba” by Albéniz.

Headshot of Isabel Anaya
Isabel Anaya received the 2022 Leadership in Education Award!

Couple dancing salsa
Siblings Drs. Awilda I. Ramos and Angel L. Rivera perform a salsa dance.

Valerie Collins sings with George Prado and Johnathan Alexander play bass and drums behind her.
Valerie Collins, AICP and the Aaron Prado Trio slowed it down for a jazzy “I’ve Got To See You Again”

We want to thank D’s on Keys 2022 sponsors and partners:
Digital Pro Lab, FASTSIGN – Northeast San Antonio, University Health, UT Health San Antonio, Alamo Music Center, Cavender Auto Family, JLen Events, PlainsCapital Bank, Vista Dermatology, Texas Public Radio, as well as the following individual sponsors Drs. Kevin Hall and Josefine Heim-Hall, Drs. Luis and Awilda Ramos, Mary Flanagan and Michael Lichtenstein MD, Virginia Kane, Ed and Nancy Kelley, Drs. Robert Michaelson and Anya Grokhovski, Dr. Gustavo Valadez Ortiz and Mr. Larry Dahl, Peggy and Paul Pace, Samantha Price Fischer and Vernon Haney, Vito and Toni Ruiz, Mario Vazquez, Graham Weston, and Valerie Collins, AICP

We also want to thank our D’s on Keys 2022 committee:
Jaime Cooke, Chair, Jenifer Brown, Valerie Collins, Amanda Dominguez, Jamie Kowalski, Peggy Pace, Mario Vazquez