October 4, 2014 – Habaneros

Habaneros, direct from Havana: Virtuoso Clarinetist Alden Ortuño Cabezas with a String Quartet comprised of members of the National Symphony Orchestra of Cuba will dazzle guests with classical selections by American, European and Cuban Composers. Mr. Ortuño Cabezas has participated in several competitions and earned the 1st Award at Amadeo Roldán Contest in Matanzas province in 1989. In 1994, he earned the 1st Award and Recognition as the Best Cuban Music Performance at Amadeo Roldán National Contest in Havana. Mr. Ortuno will take the saxophone while fellow musicians double as percussionists!


Clarinet Quintet in A major, K 581                     Wolfgang A. Mozart (1789)35 min

  1. Allegro
  2. Larghetto
  3. Menuetto
  4. Allegretto con variazioni
Chica de Ipanema Vinícius de Moraes/ A. C. Jobim   Arr: Guido López Gavilán
Racine Carlos Suárez
Bodeguero Richard Egües, Arr:  Alden Ortuño
La Contradanza Paquito D’Rivera  Adaptation: Idalmis Ulloa
Las Margaritas Arr: Núñez/L. Pérez   Chucho Valdés
Mambo Influenciado Arr: Carlos Suárez     Chucho Valdés